UIL Power Journalism Presentation

Now: $120.00
(You save )
(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Calculated at Checkout



POWER JOURNALISM is a set of five computer-ready coaching prompts designed to facilitate discussion and learning between coaches and students. Visually updated in 2018, Power Journalism allows students to attempt the supplied prompt in each area, which can then be followed by a group review of concise objectives while opening minds to creative thought. The set contains one Journalism Overview presentation and one in-depth classroom presentation in each of the four specific areas of study: Editorial Writing, Feature Writing, Headline Writing and News Writing. As this product is a hefty volume, it is sold as a .pdf only; this format allows for one's own printing as well as viewing/instructing via computer.

For more information about the UIL Journalism Contests, visit their website here.




A popular instructor at journalism workshops and seminars for high school
students nationwide, Hawthorne has been published in every national
scholastic press association periodical. He is the author of The Radical
Write, a textbook on reporting and writing for student publications that is
used nationwide. He is also the author of Longhorn Football: An Illustrated
History, and Home Field, both published by the University of Texas Press.
He has also written numerous handbooks and manuals on writing-related
topics including Game On: Reporting and Writing Sports for Student Media.
In 2005, he retired from the University Interscholastic League, an
organization that coordinates extracurricular activities for all Texas
public schools where he served as director of academics and director of
journalism. In 2009, he wrote, designed and produced a 200-page history
of the UIL as part of its centennial anniversary. For several years, he wrote
journalism contest materials for Hexco. He is a regular columnist for Texas
School Business magazine, published by the Texas Association of School

Hawthorne has won awards from associations you have never heard of,
including the Columbia Scholastic Press Association’s Gold Key and James
Paschal Awards; the National Scholastic Press Association’s Pioneer Award;
and the Interscholastic League Press Conference’s Edith Fox King Award,
given for distinguished service to Texas scholastic journalism.
In 1991, he was named a lifetime member by the Texas Association of
Journalism Educators, and in 2000 received TAJE’s Trailblazer Award. In
2007, he received from the CSPA its Charles R. O’Malley Award for Overall
Excellence in Teaching, an honor that recognizes “a sustained record of
outstanding teaching.” In November, 2007, he received the Carl Towley
Award, the Journalism Education Association’s highest honor.
Hawthorne is a graduate of The University of Texas at Austin (BJ 1975, MA
1985) and continues to live in Austin.

Additional Details


Related Products

Customers Also Viewed

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest updates on new products and upcoming sales

No thanks